Hakka noodles has been my favourite since I was a kid. Today when I made the noodles after so long, it reminded me of my school days, when amma used to make them on Sunday for dinner. My grandpa would cut the vegetables to perfection. I really missed those days and also my family.

It also reminds me the first time I made Hakka noodles. It was my elder brother’s birthday and our mom was out of town on a meeting. I decided to celebrate the birthday and invite brother’s friends for dinner, and I had made the noodles for the first time, I was in 9th standard at that time.

I have always experimented with the noodles. By far, this one is my all time favourite. I don’t use aginomoto. If you want the authentic taste, you may add it, but for health it isn’t considered good.

Ingredients

  1. Hakka noodles                             1pack
  2. Vegetables                                   Beans, carrot, cabbage, capsicum     1-2 cups
  3. Oil                                                     5-6 tbsp
  4. Red chilli whole                         1
  5. Green chilli                                  1 split into half
  6. Ginger                                           1 piece, cut into julianne
  7. Garlic                                            2-3 pods, crushed
  8. Onion                                            1 large
  9. Salt to taste
  10. Soy sauce                                  1 teaspoon

Method

  • Take 10 cups of water in a big vessel, let it boil. Once it boils, add the noodle cake, a pinch of salt and let it boil for 2-3 minutes. Don’t over cook.
  • Strain the noodles and spread on a plate and toss a spoon of oil so that the noodles don’t stick together.
  • Slit the green chilli, cut the ginger, slice the onion and set aside.
  • Now cut the vegetables into long and thin pieces. You may add spring onions if you like.
  • Take a wok or a kadhai, add 3-4 tablespoons oil, once it heats add the red chilli, green chilli, ginger and garlic. Saute it with a pinch of salt, once it turns pink, add onions and add a little more salt. Let the flame be high.
  • Once the onions turn pink, add the vegetables, and add a little more salt. Once the vegetables are done, add the noodles. Don’t over cook the vegetables. Add a teaspoon of soy sauce. Mix well and let it cook for 2 minutes. Turn of the gas. You may add 1/2 tea spoon of pepper powder too, I haven’t added, since my kids are young. Don’t mix with spatula too much, if possible..

image

  • Your noodle is ready to be served. It can be served with gravy manchurian.

image

Enjoy!!!