It is so surprising, how we associate every dish with something in our life.. There has to be some memories attached to every dish we make.. when I got everything ready to prepare the khichdi, I went back in time.. The time when I stayed with my mama and mami.

My mami, makes the best sabudana khichdi and the way she keeps her kitchen organised and clean has always inspired me to keep my kitchen and vessels that way. She used to serve the khichdi along with curd and sugar.

  My son, loves this dish and wants me to make it very very often. He can have it for all the 3 meals of the day. Let me show you how I make these.

image

Ingredients

1 sabudana or sago  I used 1 packet (500 Grams.)
2. Water for soaking
3. 3 to 4 green chillies finely chopped
4. Half inch piece ginger finely chopped
5. Lemon 1.
6. Salt to taste
7. Sugar 1 tbsp
8. Few curry leaves.
9. Jeera or cumin seeds 1 to 1 and a half tsp
10. Oil 3 to 4 tsp
11. Coriander leaves finely chopped for garnish.
12. Potatoes 2 medium
13. Peanuts 1/4th to half cup.. depending upon the liking.

Method

1. Soak the sabudana overnight or minimum 4 to 5 hours. Soak only in so much water to cover the sabudana. No need to add more water.

image

2. Peel the potatoes and cut into small cubes.

3. Finely chop green chillies, ginger.

4. Dry roast peanuts, remove the skin and powder in the mixer.

image

5. Heat oil in a thick bottom kadhai

image

6. Add Jeera

image

7. Once it crackles, add chillies, ginger and curry leaves.. sauté

image

8. In the meantime mix the powdered peanuts with sabudana .. It keeps them from becoming sticky.
Tip: if after 4 to 5 hours of soaking, you see water in the sabudana, drain the excess water and spread it out on a clean towel..

image

image

9. Once the chillies are sautéed, add the potatoes, salt for the potatoes and cook till potatoes are done. (I normally cook the potatoes in the microwave for 4 minutes to save time.)

image

10. Now add the sabudana mixed with powdered peanut.

image

11. Add salt

image

12. Add sugar

image

13. Add lemon juice

image

14. Mix well and cook covered on low heat for 10 to 15 minutes.

image

image

15. The khichdi is ready,  serve it with curd added with sugar.

image

Enjoy!!!

