Its been so long I posted anything here. Just been busy with so many things. My little one has also started going to school and I have started working as a freelance editor. Never knew things could get this busy. But, I am loving being busy.. I have tried lots of new dishes in my kitchen, but haven’t been able to update anything here. Shall try to update some soon. I recently bought the Philips Airfryer, I tried roasting peanuts and dals. And was pleasantly surprised, they had roasted beautifully. Then tried samosas, loved the crunch in it. Will post samosa recipe next.

Lets talk about sabudana vada, I have always loved it. As a kid amma used to make. But I have never attempted it on my own. An aunt in the family had an experience while frying the vadas, it burst in oil and splashed some hot oil on her. After hearing that I’ve always been little worried about frying sabudana vadas. Today I thought of making it in my Airfryer. And the result was awesome. So tasty, crunchy on the outside and soft inside.

Here is how I made it.

  • What you’ll need

1. Sabudana – soak sabudana in just enough water to cover them.
I soaked a small bowl of sabudana.

2. Green chillies – 3 green chillies finely chopped.

3. 1 potato boiled, peeled and mashed.

4. Ginger – 1/2 inch piece, finely chopped.

5. Peanut – roasted and ground, about 2-3 tsp.

6. Salt to taste

7. Lemon juice – juice of half a lemon.

8. Coriander leaves – washed and finely chopped, 3 tsp

 

  • How to proceed

1. Soak sabudana for atleast 7 to 9 hours.
2. Dry roast peanuts and powder it.
3. Boil potatoes, peel and mash it.
4. Wash and chop green chillies, ginger and coriander leaves.
5.Take a bowl, add sabudana, powdered peanut, chopped green chillies, ginger, coriander leaves, mashed potatoes, salt, lemon juice and combine them all well.
6. Now, take a small ball of the mixture and shape into vadas.
7. Since I used airfryer, I just brushed the vadas with oil and airfried them at 180 degrees for about 12 to 15 mins.
8. You can also deep fry these vadas.
9. Enjoy with green chutney or curd and sugar.

 

Enjoy!!

IMG_1224

IMG_1225

IMG_1226

IMG_1234

