Its been a while I posted anything on my blog. Just been too pre-occupied with many things. I keep trying something new every now and then and I click pics and decide to post it but then again other things take priority in my list.

My new found passion for a few months have been baking cakes, cookies and breads, buns, rolls. This time I tried an eggless orange cake. I had plenty of oranges lying in my fridge unused for a few days and I wanted to bake something different, so I browsed through many recipes and adapted the recipe from here.. The cake came out soft, moist and flavourful.

For the cake you may need:

  1. All purpose flour / Maida       1 and a half cups, take out 3 tablespoons maida from it and add 3 tablespoons of cornflour to the maida (this makes it the cake flour)
  2. brown sugar                                 1/2 cup
  3. baking soda                                  1tsp
  4. baking powder                            1/4th tsp
  5. a pinch of salt
  6. oil ( I used sunflower oil)       1/3rd cup
  7. Orange juice ( I used freshly squeezed juice) – 1 cup
  8. orange zest                                  zest taken from a medium orange, you can adjust it according to your liking
  9. vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)  1tsp
  10. Vanilla essence                                  1tsp

eggless orange cake

  • Take a 9 inch cake pan and prepare it by brushing oil and dusting some flour.
  • Pre heat the oven at 190 degrees.
  • Sieve the APF, baking soda, baking powder.
  • In a bowl add all the wet ingredients, and mix well to incorporate everything.
  • Add the dry ingredients and combine well.
  • Pour into the prepared pan and tap to remove the bubbles.
  • Place it in the oven and bake for 30 to 35 mins. Mine came out clean at 35 mins, you should keep an eye from around 25 mins.
  • Take the cake pan from the oven and let it cool, then run a knife around the edges and invert on a cooling rack. Let it cool completely.
  • Slice and enjoy the cake… you can use this cake for frosting too, but my family doesn’t like frosted cakes that much.

orange cake 20140228_131304

20140228_131406

