I was going through a number of blogs that is when I came across this blog My Kitchen Experiments and found this interesting recipe. I tried and it came out yummy. I loved it and thought of sharing it with my friends. For the past two days I have been trying to bake pineappe upside down cake and its been a dissaster both the times. I just lost hope and am so scared to bake again. Thats when I found this recipe.

I’ve always been good at cooking regular South Indian, Tamil Brahmin food. But trying out different kinds of snacks and recipes, I’m really enjoying. I’ve always had a liking towards preparing sweets. Previously, I always made Mysore pak, laddoo, kesari, chakara pongal. But now, you will find, I have lot more options and this I’m loving.

With the new fright of baking, I wasn’t sure what kind of experiments I could do in the kitchen. I found this, a no bake, no fuss and yummy choco pinwheels. For the pinwheels you need:

For the outer covering

  1. Marrie Biscuit                                             20 nos.
  2. Cocoa powder                                             1 and a half tsp
  3. Cadbury drinking chocolate                  half tsp  (Its optional, It was not in the recipe I referred to, I simply added it as I had unsweetened cocoa)
  4. Sugar                                                              1 tbsp
  5. Milk          for kneading

For the inner stuffing

  1. Butter                                                        2 tbsp
  2. Sugar                                                         1/2 tea cup or according to your tase
  3. cadamom can be added (I skipped it)      a pinch
  4. fresh coconut                                         1tsp

How to proceed

  1. Break the biscuit into pieces and powder it in a mixer. Once the biscuit is powered well, add the cocoa and sugar and powder again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.  Now that you have the mixture ready, Sift it for easier kneading and rolling.

3. Add milk little at a time and knead into a soft dough and set aside.

4. Take a mixing bowl and cream the sugar and butter well. Add the coconut and cardomom powder (optional).

5. Divide the dough into two. Place a piece of aluminium foil, big enough to roll the chapati. Place one ball of dough on the foil and with the help of a rolling pin, roll out the dough  into a round shape, like chapati. Spread the butter-sugar stuffing on the chapati.

6. Carefully roll the chapati diagonally. Roll tightly and seal the edges, if there are any cracks. Roll the foil too and place them in the freezer to set for 30-60 minutes. I let them set for 60 minutes.

  

 

 

 

 

 

7. Once it sets, remove from the freezer. Open the foil and cut into small pinwheels with a width of half an inch.

 

 

 

 

 

Enjoy these simple but super yummy pinwheels. Serve chilled and keep refregerated. Use it within 2 days of preparation.

Notes

  • The actual recipe called for dessicated coconut, I personally don’t like its smell and taste, therefore I replaced it with fresh coconut. However, if you chose to use dessicated coconut, you can add half cup to the butter-sugar stuffing.
  • I never give time estimate, because, I never get to do anything at one go as I have a one year old daughter to care. Once she grows up a bit, I shall start giving more details, hopefuly by then I’l get used to blogging as well! I have a four and a half year old son too.
  • I have used drinking chocolate for the outer layer. Its optional, and I added the same because, I felt unsweetened cocoa wouldn’t be enough for the pinwheels.
  • I also felt that a little more milk could have been added to the dough to make it little more softer.
  • I also skipped cardamom powder, as I felt, I use it too much in all the South Indian sweets I make.

choco pinwheels

