I’m totally new to baking. I’ve always been fond of cooking, and baking and always try any new recipe I come across.

Baking a cake has always been secondary as I am a vegetarian and don’t use egg as well. It was just now that I learned a few eggless recipes with sweetened condensed milk. I am really loving the new baking experience.

I made this simple plain vanilla cake and in two days have baked it again. It’s simple and really yummy.

Ingredients

  1. All purpose flour                                  1 and a 1/2 cups
  2. Sweetened condensed milk              1 can
  3.  Powdered sugar                                    2 tbsp
  4. Vanilla powder                                       1tbsp
  5. Vanilla essence                                       1tbsp
  6.  Baking powder                                       1 and 1/4tsp
  7.  Soda bicarbonate                                  1/2tsp
  8. Water                                                           1 cup
  9.  Unsalted butter                                      1/4 cup
  10. Salt                                                                1/4 spoon
  • Preheat the oven at 180 degrees for 15 minutes. Take a baking pan, I used a loaf one. Grease the pan with butter and dust it with flour, and set it aside.
  • Sieve the flour, baking powder, soda bicarbonate, salt, sugar powder together in a large mixing bowl.
  • Make a well in the middle of the flour mixture and add all the wet ingredients one by one. Mix well by hand or by electric whip. I used a spoon. Now add the vanilla powder and essence. The batter would be creamy after mixing.
  • Pour into the prepared pan and bake at 180 degrees for 30 minutes or until the toothpick or knife comes out clean.
  • Once done, remove from oven and let of cool for sometime. Slice after it cools and enjoy the cake.

plain vanilla cake

My notes

  • Do not open the oven frequently to check on the cake. I kept doing that initially when I started baking, and often the cake was undone in the middle. I’ve learned my lesson now.
  • Once the batter is ready, do not delay the baking.

Enjoy the simple and eggless vanilla cake.

Adapted from Madhuram’s eggless cooking

