Kaju Katli is one of my all time favorites. Never knew it could be so easy and fast to make. This sweet is my son’s favorite. Every time I bought this from a sweet shop, I felt bad giving him silver foil and a sweet which is not even a pure kaju sweet… In the shops, the sweet is made of kaju and mava and they also add silver foil. Now that I have learned to make it, and what makes me more happy is that my son loved it and he asked for more………….. that means it came out well. For a mother the biggest certificate is that her kids love her cooking and ask her to make dishes they love.. I love to meet all his demands. Here is the recipe of this yummy sweet.

This is a great and easy sweet to be made during the festival of Diwali.

Ingredients

Cashewnuts 1 cup

Sugar 1 cup (and if you like a little more sugar you can add another 1/4 cup)

Ghee 2tsp

Water 2tsp

`Grease a plate with little ghee

Take a pan and roast the cashews in low heat, and take them off the gas before it turns color. I, roasted the nuts in microwave for 3 minutes. Once the cashew cools down, powder it with the sugar. I used 1 and 1/4 cups of sugar. Powder the cashew and sugar together into a fine powder.

Take a pan, in low flame, mix the cashew and sugar powder. Also add the water and ghee, keep mixing in circles. Mix till u see small bubbles forming. When you see the mixture becoming a little thick and settling, you will also see the ghee separating, (this should take only 5-7 minutes) then transfer the contents to a slightly greased plate, spread it into a thin layer using a flat spoon. Do not press.

Once it sets, cut them into diamond pieces and let them cool. Once they cool you can take them one by one or you can turn the plate onto a paper or another plate and lightly pat the back of the plate and you can see your kaju katli pieces collecting on the other plate.

Enjoy!

